The Augustan division of Rome and Italy into regions
(1,558 words)

The term regio, which in augural terminology denoted a section of sky whose dimensions were ascertained by arcane principles, also referred (synonymously with the term tribus) to one of the four urban regions into which the sixth of the Roman kings, Servius Tullius, was said to have divided the area of the city of Rome within the Pomerium. The four original urban regiones were 1. the regio Palatina, 2. the regio Collina, 3…

Cite this page
Olshausen, E., “The Augustan division of Rome and Italy into regions”, in: Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 3 : Historical Atlas of the Ancient World, Edited by: Anne-Maria Wittke, Eckart Olshausen, Richard Szydlak, in collaboration with: Vera Sauer and other specialists. Consulted online on 24 March 2018 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: 9789004167834, 20091241

▲   Back to top   ▲