The Brill Dictionary of Religion

Get access
Search Results: | 2 of 6 |

Mountains (Five Sacred)
(1,510 words)

Traditionally, the five sacred mountains of China are:

the Songgao, or Peak of the Center, in Henan;
the Taishan, or Peak of the East, in Shandong;
the Hengshan, or Peak of the South, in Hunan;
the Huashan, or Peak of the West, in Shenxi;
the Hengshan, or Peak of the North, in Shenxi (not to be confused with the Hengshan in Hunan; see map in → China/Japan/Korea).

While the Songgao represented the Emperor, and thus the center of the Empire, …

Cite this page
Bumbache, Stephan Peter, “Mountains (Five Sacred)”, in: The Brill Dictionary of Religion, Edited by Kocku von Stuckrad. Consulted online on 25 January 2020 <>
First published online: 2006
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004124332, 20051223

▲   Back to top   ▲