Brill’s New Pauly

Get access

(211 words)

[German version]

In his imperial reforms of 27 BC, Augustus united under the title A. 14 Celtic tribes between  Garumna and  Liger (Str. 4,1,1; Plin. HN 4 107-109; Ptol. 2,7); included were the actual  Aquitani: Arverni, Bituriges Cubi, Cadurci, Gabali, Lemovices, Ruteni, Vellavii, Nitiobriges, Petrocorii, Pictones, Santoni, Bituriges Vivisci and two of the three others cited by Plin. and Ptol. The governor resided first in  Mediolanum, then in  Burdigala. During the 4th cent. AD the province was subdivided into Novempopulana (nine or 12 tribes?), Aquitan…

Cite this page
Frezouls, Edmond (Strasbourg), “Aquitania”, in: Brill’s New Pauly, Antiquity volumes edited by: Hubert Cancik and , Helmuth Schneider, English Edition by: Christine F. Salazar, Classical Tradition volumes edited by: Manfred Landfester, English Edition by: Francis G. Gentry. Consulted online on 01 March 2024 <>
First published online: 2006
First print edition: 9789004122598, 20110510

▲   Back to top   ▲