(172 words)

[German version]

(Ἱπποθοντίς; Hippothontís). Since Cleistenes' reform of the phyles, the 8th of 10 phyles of Attica; eponymous hero Hippothoon. At the time of the 10 phyles in the 4th cent. BC, the H. comprised 17 (6? asty-, 7? paralia, 4? mesogeia-) demes [1. 11f., 51f., 102] primarily around Eleusis and in north-west Attica; several are not located [1. map]. In 307/6 BC Coele and Oenoe (modern Myupolis) changed to the Demetrias, Auridae or Corydallus to the Antigonis, in 224/3 BC Oion Dekeleikon and Oenoe (from the Demetrias) to the …

Cite this page
Lohmann, Hans (Bochum), “Hippothontis”, in: Brill’s New Pauly, Antiquity volumes edited by: Hubert Cancik and , Helmuth Schneider, English Edition by: Christine F. Salazar, Classical Tradition volumes edited by: Manfred Landfester, English Edition by: Francis G. Gentry. Consulted online on 13 December 2018 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1574-9347_bnp_e515220>
First published online: 2006
First print edition: 9789004122598, 20110510

▲   Back to top   ▲