Brill’s New Pauly

Get access
Search Results: | 15 of 95 |

Notitia Galliarum
(108 words)

[German version]

(Notitia provinciarum et civitatum Galliae). The NG is a list, compiled at the end of the 4th and the beginning of the 5th cent., of the 17 Gallic provinces with 115 civitates (local communities), seven castra (B.) and a portus (port). The administrative classification is associated with the eclesiastic division into dioceses ( dioíkēsis II.). More than 100 MSS, often interpolated, attest to the importance of the NG in the Middle Ages.

Notitia dignitatum



O. Seeck, Notitia dignitatum, 1876, 261-274 

MGH AA 9, 1892, …

Cite this page
Johne, Klaus-Peter (Berlin), “Notitia Galliarum”, in: Brill’s New Pauly, Antiquity volumes edited by: Hubert Cancik and , Helmuth Schneider, English Edition by: Christine F. Salazar, Classical Tradition volumes edited by: Manfred Landfester, English Edition by: Francis G. Gentry. Consulted online on 25 October 2020 <>
First published online: 2006
First print edition: 9789004122598, 20110510

▲   Back to top   ▲