Brill’s New Pauly

Get access

Seven Sages
(413 words)

[German version]

Plato (Prot. 343a) is the first to mention seven names. Of those Thales of Miletus, Pittacus of Mytilene, Bias [2] of Priene and Solon [1] of Athens firmly belong to the circle of the SS (οἱ ἑπτὰ σοφοί/heptà sophoí; Latin septem sapientes), whereas Cleobulus [1] of Lindus, Myson of Chen and Chilon [1] of Sparta compete with altogether ten others (primarily Pythagoras [2]) (Diog. Laert. 1,40-42). In contrast to Plato, Demetrius [4] of Phalerum (10,3 DK) replaces Myson with Periander of Corinth. With this the final catalogue was established. The connexion between wisdom an…

Cite this page
Christes, Johannes (Berlin), “Seven Sages”, in: Brill’s New Pauly, Antiquity volumes edited by: Hubert Cancik and , Helmuth Schneider, English Edition by: Christine F. Salazar, Classical Tradition volumes edited by: Manfred Landfester, English Edition by: Francis G. Gentry. Consulted online on 31 May 2023 <>
First published online: 2006
First print edition: 9789004122598, 20110510

▲   Back to top   ▲