Brill’s Digital Library of World War I

Get access
Search Results: | 2 of 2 | Next

Armed Forces (Dominions)
(3,147 words)

Armed Forces (Dominions)

The settler colonies of the British Empire (Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and South Africa) had already acquired the status of dominions prior to 1914, as part of a constitutional development towards full independence. Self-determination in domestic matters had already been granted to Canada in 1867, to Australia in 1901, to New Zealand in 1907, and to South Africa in 1910. The British declaration of war on Germany in 1914 was binding for all dominions, since London still controlled the foreign and defense policies. London, on …

Cite this page
Grey, Jeffrey, “Armed Forces (Dominions)”, in: Brill’s Digital Library of World War I. Consulted online on 16 July 2024 <>
First published online: 2015

▲   Back to top   ▲