Encyclopaedia Islamica

Get access

Bukhārī Arfinjī
(692 words)

There is one extant work by Bukhārī Arfinjī, Tāj al-qiṣaṣ dar tārīkh al-anbiyāʾ, which is considered one of the earliest versions of the literary genre of stories of the prophets. Tāj al-qiṣaṣ, which has come down to us in its entirety, chronicles the lives of the prophets in the following order: the Creation and Adam, Idrīs (variously identified in Islamic tradition with such figures as Enoch, Elijah and Hermes; see Erder, 484) Noah, Hūd, Ṣāliḥ (both of the latter being Arabian prophets), Shuʿayb (Jethro), Abraham, Ishmael, …

Cite this page
Majidi, Maryam and Translated by Alexander Khaleeli, “Bukhārī Arfinjī”, in: Encyclopaedia Islamica, Editors-in-Chief: Farhad Daftary. Consulted online on 29 May 2023 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1875-9831_isla_SIM_05000022>
First published online: 2021

▲   Back to top   ▲