Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936)

Get access
Search Results: | 25 of 41 |

Abū Zaiyān
(1,207 words)

, the name of four ʿAbdalwādide or Zaiyānide kings:

1. Abū Zaiyān I Muḥammed b. Abī Saʿīd ʿOt̲h̲mān b. Yag̲h̲murāsan b. Zaiyān, the third sovereign of the Zaiyānide dynasty, was proclaimed king at Tlemcen, on the death of his father, the 2d Ḏh̲u’l-Ḳaʿda 703 (6th June 1304), during the long siege of that town by the Marīnide sultan Abū Yaʿḳūb al-Manṣūr. The siege was kept on since the 3d S̲h̲aʿbān 698 (6th May 1299), and was not to be finished before the 7th Ḏh̲u’l-Ḳaʿda 706 (10th May 1307) when Abū Yaʿḳūb was assassinated by one of his eunuchs.

The Marīnide sultan had founded, with the objec…

Cite this page
Cour, A., “Abū Zaiyān”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936), Edited by M. Th. Houtsma, T.W. Arnold, R. Basset, R. Hartmann. Consulted online on 13 August 2020 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/2214-871X_ei1_COM_0009>
First published online: 2012
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004082656, 1913-1936

▲   Back to top   ▲