Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936)

Get access
Search Results: | 95 of 108 |

(512 words)

(Odra-deça), a part of the modern Indian province of Bihar and Orissa, has an area of 13,706 square miles and a population of 5,306,142, of which only 124,463 profess the Muslim faith. For administrative purposes it is divided into the five districts of Cuttack, Balasore, Purl, Angul and Sambalpur. There are in addition twenty-four native states, the Orissa feudatory states, with a population of 4,465,385, the Muḥammadans numbering only 17,100 (Census of India, 1931).

Modern Orissa, which embraces the deltas of the Mahānadī and neighbouring rivers, extends from the Ba…

Cite this page
Davies, C. Collin, “Orissa”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936), Edited by M. Th. Houtsma, T.W. Arnold, R. Basset, R. Hartmann. Consulted online on 19 February 2020 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/2214-871X_ei1_SIM_3567>
First published online: 2012
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004082656, 1913-1936

▲   Back to top   ▲