Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE

Get access
Search Results: Prev | 1 of 29 |

Bahmanī dynasty
(2,706 words)

The Bahmanī were a Muslim dynasty of eighteen sultans that ruled from 748/1347 to 934/1528 in present-day North Karnataka, in the Deccan plateau region of India. In the 740s/1340s, in the wake of uprisings against Tughluq rule in the Deccan, two rival empires consolidated authority on opposite sides of the Krishna River: the Muslim Bahmanīs, who adopted the family name of the dynasty’s founder, ʿAlāʾ al-Dīn Ḥasan Bahman Shāh (r. 748–59/1347–58), and the Hin…

Cite this page
Overton, Keelan, “Bahmanī dynasty”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE, Edited by: Kate Fleet, Gudrun Krämer, Denis Matringe, John Nawas, Devin J. Stewart. Consulted online on 26 March 2023 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_ei3_COM_25147>
First published online: 2016
First print edition: 9789004305786, 2016, 2016-5

▲   Back to top   ▲