Encyclopedia of Christianity Online

Get access
Search Results: | 3 of 4 |

Zephaniah, Book of
(598 words)

Zephaniah is the ninth book of the Minor Prophets. Although the precise circumstances of the prophet’s life are unknown, his prophecies suggest that he was of Judean origin, a member of a prominent and possibly royal family, and active during the first half of the reign of Josiah (639–609 b.c.). Zephaniah’s preaching falls within the tradition of Amos, Isaiah, and Micah, his eighth-century predecessors. His utterances in turn may have influenced the prophecy of Jeremiah, a contemporary of his.

The book consists of three chapters. Although some scholars find evidence of exi…

Cite this page
Myers, Allen C., “Zephaniah, Book of”, in: Encyclopedia of Christianity Online. Consulted online on 16 October 2021 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/2211-2685_eco_Z.6>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004169678, 20080512



▲   Back to top   ▲