Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

Get access

Yehoshua, Avraham B.
(1,212 words)

Avraham B. Yehoshua (b. 1936) has been in the forefront of Israeli fiction writers and intellectuals since the appearance of his first book, Mot ha-Zaqen (The Death ofthe Old Man, 1962), a collection of disturbingly allegorical tales in the vein of Kafka and Agnon. Stories such as “Massaʿ ha-ʿErev shel Yatir” (The Night Journey of Yatir) and “Shelosha Yamim va-Yeled” (Three Days and a Child) portray a welling-up of violent emotions, presumably due to Israel’s culture of denial and repression during its first two decades of statehood. “ Mul ha-Yeʿarot” (Facing the Forests) portrays …

Cite this page
Stanley Nash, “Yehoshua, Avraham B.”, in: Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, Executive Editor Norman A. Stillman. Consulted online on 16 October 2019
First published online: 2010



▲   Back to top   ▲