Religion Past and Present

Get access
Search Results: | 6 of 10 |

Caribbean Conference of Churches
(164 words)

[German Version]

(CCC) was founded in 1973 by 18 churches in Kingston, Jamaica. The CCC became the first ecumenical institution in the world, with the Roman Catholic Church as one of its founding members. The other Churches are: the Anglican Church, Baptists, Methodists, Orthodox Churches, Reformed Churches, Lutherans, Bohemian and Moravian Brethren, Presbyterians, and the Salvation Army. The CCC was the result of a process of closer cooperation between the Churches of the region, under a new Carribean leadership, which had greater independence from …

Cite this page
Lampe, Armando, “Caribbean Conference of Churches”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 21 July 2024 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲