Religion Past and Present

Get access

Central Africa
(243 words)

[German Version]

More than ten countries belong to the region of Central Africa (Angola, Burundi, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, the Republic of Congo [Congo, Republic of], the Democratic Republic of Congo [Congo, Democratic Republic], Ruanda, Chad, Central African Republic; Africa, see map) with an area of 4.6 million km2 and over 120 million inhabitants. Central Africa has suffered from the Arabian and trans-Atlantic slave trade. Christian missions began in the Kingdom of Kongo at the end of the 15th century at the invitation of Portuguese missionaries. King Afonso I (1506–1…

Cite this page
Roser, Markus, “Central Africa”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 09 December 2019 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲