Religion Past and Present

Get access

Coronati Quattuor
(186 words)

[German Version]

(“Four Crowned”) is the customary designation since the 6th century for a group of martyrs of uncertain origin venerated in Rome. At the core, it includes the names Claudius, Nicostratus, Sempronianus (Symphorianus) and Castorius. The first three are already listed in the Depositio episcoporum/martyrum . In the 4th century, they were probably venerated in the Roman catacomb Inter duos lauros (Santi Marcellino e Pietro); since the end of the 6th century there has been a Roman titular church with the patronage of the group. The Passio (BHL 1836) from late 5th/early …

Cite this page
Reinhard Seeliger, Hans, “Coronati Quattuor”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 20 January 2020 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲