Religion Past and Present

Get access
Search Results: Prev | 1 of 7 |

Lévinas, Emmanuel
(516 words)

[German Version]

(Dec 30, 1905 [Jan 12, 1906 Old Style], Kaunas, Lithuania – Dec 25, 1995, Paris). Lévinas, a phenomenologist in the tradition of E. Husserl and M. Heidegger, productively utilized Jewish tradition to develop a “philosophy of the face.” Lévinas's family was Jewish; he grew up with the Bible and the classic Russian authors. In 1923 he moved to Strasbourg, where he studied philosophy. In 1928/1929 he spent a year in Freiburg studying with Husserl and Heidegger. After receiving his degree in 1961, he taught at…

Cite this page
Huizing, Klaas, “Lévinas, Emmanuel”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 01 October 2020 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1877-5888_rpp_SIM_12788>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013



▲   Back to top   ▲