Religion Past and Present

Get access
Search Results: | 3 of 12 |

Megillat Taʿanit
(338 words)

[German Version]

(Meg. Taʿan.), “Scroll of fasts,” lists 35 days on which, because of joyous events in the past, fasting (V, 1), and in some cases also mourning, are forbidden. The Aramaic list, following the Nisan year, goes back to the time of the Second Temple, even though Hananiah ben Hiscia (b. Šabb. 13b) or his son Eleazar, known from Josephus (Bell. II 409), is named as its author; it was completed only in the 2nd century ce (first mentioned in m. Taʿan. 2:8). In addition to Purim (Feasts and festivals: III, 1) and the lesser Pesach (Num 9:9–12), dates are mentioned that recal…

Cite this page
Lehnardt, Andreas, “Megillat Taʿanit”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 16 August 2022 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲