Religion Past and Present

Get access

(203 words)

[German Version]

(Gk ὀκτώηχος, “Book of eight tones”), also Paracleticē (Liturgical books: II). In the Orthodox liturgy, for each of the eight church tones (ἤχοι/ḗchoi) a cycle of texts is prescribed for all Sundays and weekdays; it begins on the second Sunday after Easter and continues to the fifth Sunday of the Great Fast. It provides for each weekday a fresh theme in each tone, Sundays being devoted to the theme “Resurrection.” These texts form the main contents of the Octoechos. Octoechos also denotes this time, w…

Cite this page
Wildt, Karin, “Oktoechos”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 19 November 2019 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲