Religion Past and Present

Get access
Search Results: | 12 of 31 |

Oriental Orthodox National Churches
(253 words)

[German Version]

The oriental Orthodox churches include the Coptic Orthodox Church (its pope resides in Cairo [Copts: I]), the Syrian Orthodox Church (with its own catholicosate in India; seat of the patriarch in Damascus [Syria; Malenkara Church]), the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church (seat in Addis Ababa [Ethiopian Orthodox Church]), the Armenian Apostolic Church (seat of the catholicos in Etchmiadzin; for the Western Armenians in Antelias [Armenia: II]), the Indian Malenkara Church (seat of the catholicos in Kottayam), and the Malabar Independent Syrian Chur…

Cite this page
Tamcke, Martin, “Oriental Orthodox National Churches”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 25 September 2020 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲