Religion Past and Present

Get access
Search Results: | 15 of 18 |

(277 words)

[German Version]

̣(Sanskrit, “three baskets”; Pāli tipiṭaka), the three collections of authoritative scriptures in Buddhism (Canon: VII): the Vinayapiṭaka, Sūtrapiṭaka and Abhidharmapiṭaka. The Vinayapiṭaka comprises (1) the Prātimokṣa (penitential formulary and list of the prohibitions applying to monks and nuns [Monasticism: IV]), (2) the Karmavācanā (procedural rules for legal actions of the order [Saṃgha]), (3) the Sūtravibhaṅga (detailed explanations of the Buddha regarding the prohibitions listed in the Prātimokṣa), (4) the Skandhaka (rules governing communit…

Cite this page
Kleine, Christoph, “Tripiṭaka”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 11 August 2020 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲