Religion Past and Present

Get access
Search Results: | 4 of 12 |

Verdi, Giuseppe Fortunino Francesco
(170 words)

[German Version]

(Oct 10, 1813, Le Roncole, near Busseto, Duchy of Parma – Jan 27, 1901, Milan), Italian composer. After studying music in Milan with Vincenzo Lavigna, Verdi served as music master in Busseto and then moved to Milan. With his income from opera, he purchased the estate of Sant’ Agata, where he lived after 1851. A masterful composer of operas, he also composed a few pieces of church music, including a requiem mass in memory of the poet A. Manzoni (1874) and the Quattro pezzi sacri (Te Deum for double chorus and orchestra, Stabat Mater for chorus and orchestra, Ave Mariasulla sca…

Cite this page
Boisits, Barbara, “Verdi, Giuseppe Fortunino Francesco”, in: Religion Past and Present. Consulted online on 21 February 2020 <>
First published online: 2011
First print edition: ISBN: 9789004146662, 2006-2013

▲   Back to top   ▲