Sacramentum Mundi Online

Get access

New Testament Books - The Synoptic Gospels
(5,718 words)

Part of New Testament Books:

1. The Synoptic Gospels

2. The Gospel of John

3. The Acts of the Apostles

4. The Letters of Paul

5. The Letter of James

6. The Letters of Peter

7. The Letters of John

8. The Letter of Jude

9. Revelation

The first three gospels are called the synoptic gospels because, in announcing the gospel of Jesus Christ, they follow a common pattern of exposition, as may be seen at once from a “comparative view” (Greek synopsis). To understand their individual theological viewpoints we must investigate each of these gospels in their relation to one another and…

Cite this page
Xavier Léon-Dufour, “New Testament Books - The Synoptic Gospels”, in: Sacramentum Mundi Online, General Editor Karl Rahner, SJ. Consulted online on 25 February 2024 <>
First published online: 2016

▲   Back to top   ▲