Sacramentum Mundi Online

Get access

Old Testament Books - Historical Books
(4,110 words)

Part of Old Testament Books:

1. Pentateuch

2. Historical Books

3. Wisdom Literature

4. Psalms

5. Prophets

In the Greek and Latin canon a number of books are designated as “historical” which are classified as “prophetical” (Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings) or “hagiographical” (Ruth, Esther 1:1–10:4, Ezra and Nehemiah, Chronicles) in the Hebrew Bible, or again are considered deuterocanonical (Tobit, Judith, Esther 10:4–16:24, Maccabees). Apart from Maccabees, the “historical books” are divided between the work of th…

Cite this page
Luis Arnaldich, “Old Testament Books - Historical Books”, in: Sacramentum Mundi Online, General Editor Karl Rahner, SJ. Consulted online on 04 October 2023 <>
First published online: 2016

▲   Back to top   ▲