Sacramentum Mundi Online

Get access

Old Testament Books - Pentateuch
(3,747 words)

Part of Old Testament Books:

1. Pentateuch

2. Historical Books

3. Wisdom Literature

4. Psalms

5. Prophets

The Pentateuch, a term taken from the Greek, designates the five books found at the beginning of the Bible, which constitute the Torah of Moses. The Fathers rarely use the word Pentateuch. Like the NT, they rather speak of “Moses” or “the Law”, νόμος in Greek, the word chosen by the Hellenistic Jews of Alexandria as the equivalent of the Hebrew Torah. The Torah is the law which governs the people of Israel, by virtue of which it enjoyed certain privileges in the Roman E…

Cite this page
Henri Cazelles, “Old Testament Books - Pentateuch”, in: Sacramentum Mundi Online, General Editor Karl Rahner, SJ. Consulted online on 21 September 2023 <>
First published online: 2016

▲   Back to top   ▲