Textual History of the Bible

Get access The History of the Jewish Canon
(8,736 words)

Part of 1 Overview Articles - 1.1 Introduction - 1.1.2 Canonical History of the Hebrew Bible

The Jewish canon is known today as a collection of twenty-four holy books structured in three parts: Torah (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy), Prophets (Joshua, Judges, 1–2 Samuel, 1–2 Kings, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, Minor Prophe…

Cite this page
Lange, Armin, “ The History of the Jewish Canon”, in: Textual History of the Bible, General Editor Armin Lange. Consulted online on 24 February 2024 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/2452-4107_thb_COM_0001010201>
First published online: 2018

▲   Back to top   ▲